Coming soon! A brand new From My Bookshelf experience.

Saturday, January 2, 2010

Hatter M, Volume 1: The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor & Liz Cavalier, art by Ben Templesmith


Title: Hatter M, Volume 1: The Looking Glass Wars
Series: The Looking Glass Wars
Authors: Frank Beddor & Liz Cavalier, art by Ben Templesmith
Copyright: 2007
Pages: 167
ISBN: 9780979593956
Publisher: Automatic Pictures
Author Website:
Format: Hardcover
Rating: 3.5/5 stars
Finished: 1-1-10
Challenge: 100 Books 10, 1010 Challenge

From Amazon:
Put to rest any delusions or disinformation you have of the tea-guzzling madman of faux literary history and prepare to expand your consciousness as the saga of Hatter Madigan and his relentless search for the lost Princess of Wonderland unfolds in Volume 1 of the Hatter M graphic novel series! In Frank Beddor's bestselling The Looking Glass Wars, Royal Bodyguard Hatter Madigan was ordered by Queen Genevieve to take Princess Alyss and leave Wonderland after a bloody palace coup staged by the murderous Redd. But while escaping through the Pool of Tears (the portal connecting Wonderland to our world) crushing centrifugal force pulled them apart, and Alyss was lost. In this first volume of the geo-graphic parallel adventure trilogy, Hatter finds himself in Paris, France in the year 1859 shockingly separated from the child he had been sworn to protect. Hatter must now embark upon a non-stop quest, crisscrossing the globe for 13 years in search of his lost Princess.

A re-read from a couple of years ago, but as I finished the The Looking Glass Wars recently and picked up the second graphic novel in the series, I thought I'd backtrack a little as a reminder of what happened in the volume.

The Hatter M graphic novels are described as Geo-Graphic Novels, detailing and mapping the adventures of Royal Bodyguard Hatter Madigan... in his search for the missing Princess Alyss of Wonderland after they were separated after jumping into the Pool of Tears to escape Redd's assassin, The Cat. The interesting thing about this first graphic novel is it runs parallel to what happens in The Looking Glass Wars (the first part of the trilogy of the same name) and fills in some of the gaps of what happened to Hatter while he was on Earth searching for Alyss. Some of the characters that we are introduced to in this volume eventually make their way into the main series, showing up in book 2, Seeing Redd.

The supplemental material in the back is also rather interested, as it is presented as actual facts that have been collected over the year related to Hatter's search for Alyss, and the proposition that Charles Dodgson's accounts of what Alyss told him were indeed changed into what he published as Lewis Caroll in Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. There are several real historical accounts that Beddor and Cavalier have been able to tie into the story as caused by events originating in Wonderland.

As a stand alone volume, I think anyone reading this who hasn't read at least The Looking Glass Wars would be completely lost. For anyone who is a fan of the series, however, while this isn't an essential part of the series, it will make for interesting reading in expanding the universe that Beddor created in his series.

For more information, visit the Looking Glass Wars website.

No comments: