I think I'm going to shut From My Bookshelf down for a while; maybe for good. I've been putting this together for quite a few years now and it's starting to feel a bit more of a chore. I'll keep my Goodreads & Instagram connected, but with the state of the world right now, I just want to read without worrying about making sure I post something about it. Who knows - when the world starts to make some semblance of sense again, I may start actively posting here again. Until then, as always, happy reading!

FMB Instagram - Sometimes More Doggo than Books!

Monday, May 17, 2010

39. A Boy Born from Mold and other Delectable Morsels by Lorin Morgan Richards

#39

Photobucket

Title: A Boy Born from Mold and other Delectable Morsels
Authors: Lorin Morgan Richards
Copyright: 2010
Pages: 75
ISBN: 9780615359649
Publisher: A Raven Above Press
Website: www.lorinrichards.com
Format: Handmade Hardcover
Rating: 5/5 stars
Finished: 5-16-10
Challenge: 100 Books 10

From Amazon:
A Boy Born from Mold and Other Delectable Morsels uncovers seven delightfully bleak stories, beginning with Ruin (or Rune proper), who through extraordinary circumstances comes to moldy life in an old battered quilt left in the corner of a basement. Readers should also examine other characters like Zoog, a young vampire, whose intolerance to blood causes bouts of gas and bloating, much to his parents' distaste. 17 Illustrations, 75 pages. Each pocket sized book is entirely handmade by the author! Hardbound using cotton based faux leather and blue acid free linen paper. Signed and limited to a life of 400 being made.

I was quite delighted to find in my mailbox the other day another beautiful edition from Lorin Morgan Richards, author of Simon Snootle and OTHER small stories, which I received last year for review. Again, fans of Edward Gorey and Tim Burton will love these seven short tales. I also believe that Morgan Richards has really developed his storytelling technique with this volume, as the stories seem to have a little bit more heart and soul than his previous volume. I think my favorite would be the title story, "A Boy Born from Mold." It may sound a little bizarre (which it is, but that's rather the point), but it also tells a story of discovering your family and becoming who you are.

As with Simon Snootle, this volume is 100% handmade by the author; it is a beautiful presentation. With each volume being handmade there is a certain amount of imperfection to each one, but it fits so well with the tone of the book itself that the entire package, story and all, becomes a unique whole.

Recommended for fans of Burton and Gorey and anyone who appreciates a true work of art from an artist who obviously loves his work.

No comments: