ANNOUNCEMENT
After a lot of thought, I've decided to take a break from blogging for the foreseeable future. With my little C creeping its way back into my life and possible long term treatment now, I need to take a couple of things off my plate for the time being, and the blog is going to be one of those things. As it is, it felt like it was becoming more of a chore than anything else. I need my reading time to be more enjoyable right now, more of the escape that I really need, and what I don't need is the little voice in the back of my head telling me how many reviews I'm behind and trying to come up with what I need to say about the book.

I simply want to read.

I'll more than likely occasionally post on here what I've been reading, and if there is something that really blows my mind, I'll probably have more to say about it and may write up a proper post, but for right now, things are going to be very quiet around here.

As always, happy reading!
2017 edit
I will continue to blog according to my health and ability, and connecting my posts thru Goodreads, so please be patient if things get quiet around here again this year.

2017 edit #2
I am happy to report that my bone marrow transplant was a success and that I'm feeling more like myself everyday. That said, I'm going to try to start blogging a little more frequently, but please bare with me as I still continue to recover.

Monday, May 17, 2010

39. A Boy Born from Mold and other Delectable Morsels by Lorin Morgan Richards

#39

Photobucket

Title: A Boy Born from Mold and other Delectable Morsels
Authors: Lorin Morgan Richards
Copyright: 2010
Pages: 75
ISBN: 9780615359649
Publisher: A Raven Above Press
Website: www.lorinrichards.com
Format: Handmade Hardcover
Rating: 5/5 stars
Finished: 5-16-10
Challenge: 100 Books 10

From Amazon:
A Boy Born from Mold and Other Delectable Morsels uncovers seven delightfully bleak stories, beginning with Ruin (or Rune proper), who through extraordinary circumstances comes to moldy life in an old battered quilt left in the corner of a basement. Readers should also examine other characters like Zoog, a young vampire, whose intolerance to blood causes bouts of gas and bloating, much to his parents' distaste. 17 Illustrations, 75 pages. Each pocket sized book is entirely handmade by the author! Hardbound using cotton based faux leather and blue acid free linen paper. Signed and limited to a life of 400 being made.

I was quite delighted to find in my mailbox the other day another beautiful edition from Lorin Morgan Richards, author of Simon Snootle and OTHER small stories, which I received last year for review. Again, fans of Edward Gorey and Tim Burton will love these seven short tales. I also believe that Morgan Richards has really developed his storytelling technique with this volume, as the stories seem to have a little bit more heart and soul than his previous volume. I think my favorite would be the title story, "A Boy Born from Mold." It may sound a little bizarre (which it is, but that's rather the point), but it also tells a story of discovering your family and becoming who you are.

As with Simon Snootle, this volume is 100% handmade by the author; it is a beautiful presentation. With each volume being handmade there is a certain amount of imperfection to each one, but it fits so well with the tone of the book itself that the entire package, story and all, becomes a unique whole.

Recommended for fans of Burton and Gorey and anyone who appreciates a true work of art from an artist who obviously loves his work.

No comments: