Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday 23 I 2013 - The Wednesday Daughters by Meg Waite Clayton

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that are eagerly anticipated.

My "can't-wait-to-read" selection for this week is:

 photo 16127241_zps15eac02f.jpg

The Wednesday Daughters by Meg Waite Clayton

Product Description:
For readers of Sarah Jio and Karen Joy Fowler comes the eagerly-awaited new novel from the nationally bestselling author of The Wednesday Sisters, following three of the Sisters' now-grown daughters as they delve into the life of a great author to discover a family history riddled with secrets.

When Hope is called from her California home to clean out the far-removed cabin her mother used as a writer's retreat in England's Lake District during the final years of her life, the last thing she expected to find were questions that shake the foundation of her identity. Accompanied by two other daughters of "the Wednesday Sisters"—Anna Page and Julie—Hope discovers that the Beatrix Potter biography her mother was supposed to have been writing actually offers clues to her own family history—a history shrouded in secrecy. The daughters encounter coded journals, secret puzzle boxes, unexplained happenings, ghosts, and charming men as they hike, cook, and even write their way around this land of lakes, mountains, and waterfalls. And in uncovering the truth about Ally, the daughters address the legacies they've inherited from their mothers—failed marriages, mixed heritage, and breast cancer—in what is ultimately a celebration of the power of friendship in this next generation of women, as well as a love story.

I've been a fan of Meg Waite Clayton's writing since I read her book, The Wednesday Sisters, so was thrilled when I heard that she was writing a sequel of sorts to that book. I'll definitely be at the store on July 30 to pick myself up a copy!

The Wednesday Daughters will be released on July 30, 2013 from Ballantine.

Want to preorder a copy of the book? Just click here!

No comments: